Skip to content

Practice of Design project 1

August 31, 2009

Our first assignment requires research into the design process utilized in the creation of a pro bono project undertaken by a local area design firm. Each student will post his findings on his blog as a detailed case study. Each student will review and post blog comments on their fellow students’ posted projects.

I contacted several Denver area firms and was lucky enough on the first contact attempt to speak directly to Todd Berger, a principal at the Boulder studio cypher13. This firm has a couple of case study worthy pro bono projects in process. One will be unveiled after this assignment is due so I will post links to it at a later date. I am currently in the midst of editing my list of interview questions I will send to the firm in reference to their project for the  AIGA(re)designAwards.

I’m excited to be able to get insight from this group of design professionals. I admire the fact they create tangible stuff in addition to and in conjunction with their identity, print, and web based client work. This work includes hand painted murals, fabricated toys, and fine art work exhibited in numerous shows. Their Thoughts and Studio sections on their site demonstrate the high level of consideration they place on the craft of design.

Comments are closed.

